At its Jan. 11 meeting, the Doña Ana County Board of Commissioners will decide on a recommendation to New Mexico Gov. Susana Martinez regarding filling the District 40 Senate seat, which covers portions of both Otero and Doña Ana Counties.

The seat was vacated when Sen. Dianne Duran was sworn in as Secretary of State on Jan. 1.

Residents of Doña Ana County’s Precinct 6 who are interested in being considered for the seat should attend the Jan. 11 meeting of the Doña Ana County Board of Commissioners, which will begin at 9 a.m. in the Commission Chambers of the Doña Ana County Government Center at 845 N. Motel Blvd., in Las Cruces. Each person seeking consideration must bring seven copies of his/her resume and letter of interest and must be prepared to give a three-minute synopsis of his/her qualifications and reasons for seeking consideration.

The Doña Ana County Board of Commissioners will have the option of choosing a qualified Senate District 40 resident to recommend, or it can decide to endorse the recommendation of either Secretary Duran (Melynn Pattillo) or the Otero County Board of Commissioners (William Burt).

Precinct 6 lies in eastern Doña Ana County and encompasses White Sands Missile Range and parts of the following off-base residential areas: A Street, Aguirre Springs Road, Baylor Canyon Road, Baylor Peak Road, Dripping Springs Road, First Street, Los Vaqueros Drive, Round Up Road, Space Murals Lane, Tierra Alta Road and U.S. 70.

***** ***** ***** ***** ***** *****

Reporters seeking more information or interviews: may call county Public Information Director Jess Williams at (575) 525-5801.