The Special Deputy Sheriff Commission (SDSC) of Doña Ana County will host the Spirit of Service Awards Friday, Oct. 21, at 7 p.m. at the Las Cruces Hilton, to honor Doña Ana County's law enforcement professionals. The public is encouraged to attend.

Event organizer Bill Rothengrass said this year's award-winning deputies and detention officers were chosen based on 16 different criteria. Evaluations were conducted by fellow officers and immediate supervisors. An officer was selected from each of the Sheriff's Department's divisions, two reserve units and the detention center. Rothengrass said SDSC wants to bring the "outstanding service of our county officers to the attention of the general public."

Awardees are: Isidro Gonzalez, School Resource; Bobby Holden, Task Force; Jaime Reyes, K-9; Matt Gray, Transport; Joe Herrera, Animal Control; Benito Salas, Legal; John Robles, Court Security; Charles Mabry, Mounted Patrol; Bobby Jakcsy, Reserve Patrol; William Hampton, Patrol; Garth Pirtle, TNT; Robert Nevarez, Criminal Investigations; Scott Knoll, Traffic; and David Borunda, Detention Center.

"We felt that the appreciation shown by their fellow officers, supervisory staff and the residents of Doña Ana County would only increase their attitude and enjoyment of their work," Rothengrass said.

Tickets to the event are $30 per person. A cash bar opens at 6 p.m. before the dinner.

For more information, call Coralie Carrier at 382-9087, Nancy Greene at 521-4027 or Patricia Rothengrass at 521-9171.

***** ***** ***** ***** ***** *****

Reporters seeking more information or interviews may call county Public Information Director Jess Williams at (505) 647-7229.