Doña Ana County

County Commissioners

Billy G. Garrett

Dept Head Title: 
District 1 Commissioner, Vice Chair
Department Head: 
Billy G. Garrett
845 N Motel Blvd
Las Cruces, New Mexico 88007
(575) 525-5808 (Office)
(575) 915-5755 (Cell)
(575) 525-5948
(575) 525-5951
Phone: (575) 525-5808 (Office)
(575) 915-5755 (Cell)
Fax: (575) 525-5948
TDD: (575) 525-5951

County Commissioners

Billy G. Garrett was elected to represent District 1 on November 2, 2010. He was re-elected in November of 2014, and he will serve through December of 2018. District 1 includes all of the communities in the south valley between Vado and Mesilla Park, as well as downtown Las Cruces, Mesilla and Picacho Hills.

Commissioner Garrett brings extensive experience with large-scale government operations to the Commission. He understands the importance of budget formulation, planning, and infrastructure development and is dedicated to making Doña Ana County the best possible place to live for all residents.

Among Commissioner Garrett’s top priorities are efficient delivery of county services, public involvement in decision-making, and program accountability. He is committed to inter-governmental coordination and comprehensive planning to support local communities faced with limited resources and rapid growth.

A third generation New Mexican, Commissioner Garrett grew up in Las Cruces and graduated from Las Cruces High School. After attending New Mexico State and Arizona State Universities, he pursued a career in architecture and organizational management. He and his wife, Cynthia, live in Mesilla; both retired from the National Park Service in 2009.