Doña Ana County

County Commissioners

John L. Vasquez - Vice Chair

Dept Head Title: 
District 5 Commissioner
Department Head: 
John L. Vasquez - Vice Chair
845 N Motel Blvd
Las Cruces, New Mexico 88007
(575) 525-5809 (Office)
(575) 635-5146 (Cell)
(575) 525-5948
(575) 525-5951
Phone: (575) 525-5809 (Office)
(575) 635-5146 (Cell)
Fax: (575) 525-5948
TDD: (575) 525-5951

County Commissioners

Commissioner John L. Vasquez was elected to the District 5 seat on the Doña Ana County Board of Commissioners on Nov. 8, 2016. He took the oath of office on Dec. 29, 2016, and assumed the duties of County Commissioner on Jan. 1, 2017. His four-year term ends Dec. 31, 2020, and he is eligible to seek re-election.

Commissioner Vasquez represents District 5, which encompasses a portion of northwestern Las Cruces and extends north to the Sierra County line, taking in all or part of the communities of Doña Ana, Radium Springs, Leasburg, Hatch, Salem and Garfield.



I am a life-long resident of New Mexico, having recently retired from the U.S. Army after 24 years as an Operational Planner serving with the 1st Special Forces Group (A). My desire to return to this area was driven entirely on the fact that Las Cruces/Doña Ana County is a wonderful place for my wife, Rosa and I, to raise our three children.

Many of our friends who grew up in the county north of Las Cruces have seen inevitable changes happen during the last 20 years, including the development of farmlands and increased traffic in rural areas.

I am concerned about public safety, water, jobs and infrastructure. As a commissioner, I will insist on accountability in county government while working together to find solutions and ways to improve the quality of life not only in District 5, but throughout Doña Ana County. I believe we can move our county forward through fair, open, common-sense policies that promote health, safety and economic growth.