Doña Ana County


County Commissioners - District 1

Lynn Ellins

District 1 Commissioner
Department Head: 
Lynn Ellins
845 N Motel Blvd
Las Cruces, New Mexico 88007
(575) 525-5808 (Office)
(575) 386-9874 (Cell)
(575) 525-5812
(575) 525-5951
Phone: (575) 525-5808 (Office)
(575) 386-9874 (Cell)
Fax: (575) 525-5812
TDD: (575) 525-5951

County Commissioners - District 1

Lynn Ellins was elected to the District 1 Commission seat in November of 2018. He took office on Jan. 1, 2019, and he will be eligible to run for re-election in 2022. 
District 1 includes the South Valley communities between Vado and Mesilla Park, as well as downtown Las Cruces, Mesilla and Picacho Hills.
Commissioner Ellins is a former chief deputy secretary of state for Colorado and a former Doña Ana County clerk, having served in that capacity for more than nine years. He played a pivotal role in New Mexico becoming a marriage-equality state in 2013.  He is committed to inter-governmental coordination and comprehensive planning to support communities faced with limited resources and rapid growth.